Sarah Gillespie 'Wishbones' Album Trailer - by Jordan Copeland @Tenternet Album Launch 29th October Purcell Room with Kit Downes, James Maddren, Ruth Goller, Laura Jurd, Emma Divine. Chris Montague



Sarah Gillespie is a critically acclaimed singer songwriter renowned for mixing elements of blues, folk and jazz with her distinctive streetwise lyricism. Her three albums 'Stalking Juliet' (2009) 'In the Current Climate' (2011) and 'Glory Days' (2014) were met with four and five star reviews from the Guardian, MOJO, the Independent and Rock and Real,  plus plaudits from iconic musician Robert Wyatt.

As a teenager, Gillespie busked across America  and returned to the UK where she received a first class honours degree in literature and a Masters in Philosophy and Politics. She went on to perform across Europe, the UK and the USA with appearances on BBC Radio 4's Woman's Hour, Start the Week and Loose Ends plus airplay on BBC Radio 2, 3 and local stations world wide reaching millions of listeners. Her debut collection of poetry 'Queen Ithaca Blues' was published by Oxford's Albion Beatnik Press.

Gillespie's 4th album 'Wishbones' is arranged and co-produced by Mercury nominated pianist and composer Kit Downes. Her new band features Kit Downes - organ and piano, James Maddren - drums, Ruth Goller - bass, Chris Montague - guitar, Emma Devine - vocals and special guest Laura Jurd - trumpet. 'Wishbones' is launched at the Southbank Centre's Purcell Room on October 29th 2018. 

Sarah Gillespie gratefully acknowledges support from Arts Council England and PRS Foundation.


Sarah Gillespie is endorsed by Yamaha


Live 2019


News & updates